Author Topic: IGMP and PIM  (Read 364 times)

wish24 (OP)

  • Bit
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2018
  • Posts: 3
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
IGMP and PIM
« on: February 13, 2018, 03:43:31 AM »
Hi,

I have some confusion with regards to IGMP and PIM. I guess both are used for multicast. So is it compulsary to configure both PIM and IGMP on a router for multicast to work? As IGMP will only allow host to join a multicat group whereas PIM would provide routing for the multicast flow.

wintermute000

  • Senior Engineer
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2473
  • Rep: 27
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Alphabets
Re: IGMP and PIM
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 04:28:11 AM »
You only need IGMP on the first hop / default gateway interface for a VLAN. Which could also be a router.

IGMP is usually enabled by default as soon as you enable PIM on an interface.

wish24 (OP)

  • Bit
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2018
  • Posts: 3
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IGMP and PIM
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2018, 10:38:33 AM »
Thanks for the reply!
So IGMP should  be enabled only on the router connecting VLAN and PIM is enabled on all the routers connecting to the multicast source.
Let me know, if i have understood otherwise.

wintermute000

  • Senior Engineer
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 2473
  • Rep: 27
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Alphabets
Re: IGMP and PIM
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2018, 06:29:06 PM »
basically yeah but you normally just turn on pim on the VLAN SVI and that takes care of IGMP as well by default

wish24 (OP)

  • Bit
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2018
  • Posts: 3
  • Rep: 0
    • View Profile
Re: IGMP and PIM
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2018, 08:51:13 AM »
basically yeah but you normally just turn on pim on the VLAN SVI and that takes care of IGMP as well by default
Thanks


Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk