Author Topic: Win 10 Unknown network  (Read 121 times)

ristau5741 (OP)

  • Administrator
  • OC-1920
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 12256
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Instanity
Win 10 Unknown network
« on: May 17, 2018, 08:41:36 AM »
One of my firewalls crashed last evening,
I had to run a bypass cable and reIP my PC, (ethernet)
now my PC has no internet connectivity
seems to not let me have access to the network
says "unknown Network" and "limited network connectivity"
how to I get this new network identified so my PC can get back online?
:professorcat:

“You can destroy your now by worrying about tomorrow.”
-Janis Joplin

deanwebb

  • Permit any any all log
  • Administrator
  • Volume Licensing
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 7858
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
  • *I* am the one who NACs.
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: FSCA: ForeScout Certified Administrator, CCNP Security, Tufin CSE, TippingPoint ASE
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2018, 10:17:17 AM »
What's the IP address? Default gateway? Subnet mask? Do they match up with the VLAN that you're on?

And if it's 169.254.x.x, then your re-IP didn't work and it's got a default MSFT address.
Take a baseball bat and trash all the routers, shout out "IT'S A NETWORK PROBLEM NOW, SUCKERS!" and then peel out of the parking lot in your Ferrari.
"The world could perish if people only worked on things that were easy to handle." -- Vladimir Savchenko
Вопросы есть? Вопросов нет! | BCEB: Belkin Certified Expert Baffler | "Plan B is Plan A with an element of panic." -- John Clarke
Accounting is architecture, remember that!

ristau5741 (OP)

  • Administrator
  • OC-1920
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 12256
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Instanity
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2018, 05:34:29 AM »
What's the IP address? Default gateway? Subnet mask? Do they match up with the VLAN that you're on?

And if it's 169.254.x.x, then your re-IP didn't work and it's got a default MSFT address.

no it's all good,  the laptop does not get DHCP, from the DHCP server. it I set a static, everything works ok,  (but that's not real portable)
did some research, came across a lot of other people with this issue,  thing liek switching the device from public to private mode,
resetting the winsock, tcp stack, and interface.  Falling short of deleting the wireless and reconfiguring which I don't really want to do
for now a static works.  (and I will report that other devices on the network have no issue getting IP address from DHCP Server).
:professorcat:

“You can destroy your now by worrying about tomorrow.”
-Janis Joplin

ristau5741 (OP)

  • Administrator
  • OC-1920
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 12256
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Instanity
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2018, 11:42:44 AM »
another odd thing, none of my vlan's behind the 3550 are working,

modem -> 3550  -? vlan 20

modem to 3550 on vlan10 172.16.1.0/28  172.16.1.1 on DSL modem  172.16.1.2 on vlan 10 on the 3550
vlan 20 svi 192.168.2.1 on 3550, my pc in vlan 20  192.168.2.2  GW 192.168.2.1 mask /24
have routes on the modem to push 192.168.2.0/24  to 172.16.1.2 on the 3550
I can ping my PC 192.168.2.2 from the DSL modem,
I cam ping the next hop isp ip from my PC  96.x.x.x
I get no DNS, and I can't browse via IP.
if I put PC in vlan 10  the 172.16.1.0/28 network all is well.
I ran a wireshark capture on my pc when trying to browse, all I get are DNS barfs, trying to resolve and cannot.
:professorcat:

“You can destroy your now by worrying about tomorrow.”
-Janis Joplin

deanwebb

  • Permit any any all log
  • Administrator
  • Volume Licensing
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 7858
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
  • *I* am the one who NACs.
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: FSCA: ForeScout Certified Administrator, CCNP Security, Tufin CSE, TippingPoint ASE
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2018, 12:28:27 PM »
Basically, there are client settings on Windows that need to be worked with when messing with networks. Always check them when messing with networks.

There can also be stupid things to set up on ISP gear... does the ISP gear filter out traffic that's not on the 10.0.0.0/8 network?
Take a baseball bat and trash all the routers, shout out "IT'S A NETWORK PROBLEM NOW, SUCKERS!" and then peel out of the parking lot in your Ferrari.
"The world could perish if people only worked on things that were easy to handle." -- Vladimir Savchenko
Вопросы есть? Вопросов нет! | BCEB: Belkin Certified Expert Baffler | "Plan B is Plan A with an element of panic." -- John Clarke
Accounting is architecture, remember that!

ristau5741 (OP)

  • Administrator
  • OC-1920
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 12256
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: Instanity
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2018, 12:51:55 PM »
Basically, there are client settings on Windows that need to be worked with when messing with networks. Always check them when messing with networks.

There can also be stupid things to set up on ISP gear... does the ISP gear filter out traffic that's not on the 10.0.0.0/8 network?

PAT is configured,  possible it doesn't PAT for other than that 172.16.1.0/28 network.   possible because I (may have double PATd with my linksys firewall that died,  it may have PAT'd everything to the FW outside interface, then the DSL modem thought everything was coming in from a 172.16.1.2 IP,  ( what used to be my firewall outside interface)  that would make sense.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 01:06:36 PM by ristau5741 »
:professorcat:

“You can destroy your now by worrying about tomorrow.”
-Janis Joplin

deanwebb

  • Permit any any all log
  • Administrator
  • Volume Licensing
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Posts: 7858
  • Country: us
  • Rep: 19
  • *I* am the one who NACs.
    • View Profile
  • Certifications: FSCA: ForeScout Certified Administrator, CCNP Security, Tufin CSE, TippingPoint ASE
Re: Win 10 Unknown network
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2018, 10:27:24 AM »
Yeah, that home gear gets easily confused. If you do the PAT before it hits the ISP router, then it should have no issue getting out.
Take a baseball bat and trash all the routers, shout out "IT'S A NETWORK PROBLEM NOW, SUCKERS!" and then peel out of the parking lot in your Ferrari.
"The world could perish if people only worked on things that were easy to handle." -- Vladimir Savchenko
Вопросы есть? Вопросов нет! | BCEB: Belkin Certified Expert Baffler | "Plan B is Plan A with an element of panic." -- John Clarke
Accounting is architecture, remember that!